Quilt Shop

quilt shop signI am getting ready to add a new department to Terry’s Thoughts and Threads in Wooden Toy and Gift.  We are going to open a Quilt Shop and stock fabrics, notions, batting, ribbons, threads and more.  I have long missed the former Cressy’s 5 and 10 that was in our town center, and many others have told me that they, too, miss the convenience of being able to buy sewing supplies right here in town. 

Rick and I will be opening the Quilt Shop on Small Business Saturday, November 30th. The shop’s opening will coincide with the release of my new book, titled The Quilter’s Quarters. It will also be the weekend before the Georgetown Peabody Library once again hosts the Georgetown Quilt Exhibit, which will hang from December through January  .

quilt shop banner

We will make another trip next week to the wholesale quilt supplier to gather more thread colors, fabrics and embroidery floss.  I have one friend who is going to place some one yard cuts of fabric with me on consignment: we’ll call that Barb’s Yards. Another will sell me her quilting patterns wholesale. And an artist friend who does beautiful paintings is going to place greeting cards with her artwork on consignment. The shop is beginning to look more full, which will please customers who want to shop local.

We met with with the dermatologist again today, so that he could see whether the two sites on my arm have enlarged or stayed the same.  He decided to biopsy them again, a little wider. If these two come back with clear margins, I’ll be free until January. But if the new biopsy samples still show nevi melanocytic cells (the not-yet melanoma) then he will send me on to the surgery for a wider excision (more surgery, more sutures.)ers.

I told him I would be going to Bethesda next month, and asked for a copy of the biopsies. I know the nurse practitioners there like to be kept up to date on health issues with the people in their Parkinson’s Biomarker seven year study group. If I’m lucky, these new biopsies won’t call for additional surgery. I don’t know how that might effect the tests they do at NIH.  But time will tell.

 

Leave a Reply

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

The Crime Fiction Writer's Forensics Blog

The Science of Crime; The Art of Fiction by DP Lyle

Trying To Get A Life

Writing my way out of a rut

The Life Well Lived

Our Family's Stories of Growing Up

pauljanson

Just another WordPress.com site

Old Design Shop Blog

Free Vintage Images

Cathy Chester | An Empowered Spirit

Living a Healthy and Vibrant Life After 50

modafabrics

The Moda Cutting Table Blog

