New Treatment, Old News

weed1

Picato Weed

I did hear from the dermatologist’s office today regarding the visit I made to his office this past week. He had looked at my black toenails and immediately commented: “What did you do to them? Traumatized them?” Of course, he was right, and I told him of the five mile walk the week before the black turned up. He said it will take about a year for them to grow out.

Then he did the skin check, and focused on my forehead. He said he could do more cryo-surgery, but he’d like me to use a cream this time instead. He wrote the prescription – two, actually.  One that he wanted me to use IF my insurance would cover it (called Picato), and the other if the insurance refused the first (because it would cost me about $1,000 as private pay.) He said I would put it carefully on my forehead sites once a day for three days in a row, and that it would work for the next month or so just like cryo-surgery worked, with redness, blisters, crusting, flaking and eventually clearing. And he apologized that it is summer time.

Then he looked at my chin, and said he might have to do cryo-surgery there. I told him that he already had done that. He decided then to do a biopsy instead. The novocaine or lydocaine or whatever-ocaine he uses really burned this time … maybe because it was my chin? Or maybe because it is so beastly hot outside … I don’t know why, but it really burned. I think I almost pulled away from him. But I didn’t, and so the biopsy went off without a hitch, and without a pain.

Today’s phone call told me that my chin site is a squamous cell carcinoma. It was too late to get in touch with the surgeon (I did try, but they had left early, and who would blame them in this heat?) So I will call them Monday, and see if I can get an appointment soon, so that my surgical chin scab and sutures will be during the same period of time as my red blistering scabbing flaking forehead. Because, if I’m going to have a bad-sweaty-hair day, I might as well go for the whole look. This brings me to an even six cancer sites: two, two and two of basal, squamous and malignant melanoma.

In for a penny, in for a pound.

The good news is that my sequel, Multiple Sclerosis, Melanoma and More is well on its way to being ready for publishing. Yay!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

The Crime Fiction Writer's Forensics Blog

The Science of Crime; The Art of Fiction by DP Lyle

Trying To Get A Life

Writing my way out of a rut

The Life Well Lived

Our Family's Stories of Growing Up

pauljanson

Just another WordPress.com site

Old Design Shop Blog

Free Vintage Images

Cathy Chester | An Empowered Spirit

Living a Healthy and Vibrant Life After 50

modafabrics

The Moda Cutting Table Blog

