Very Good News

This morning the dermatologist’s secretary called, reporting that the two biopsies I had earlier this week show no evidence of cancer.  Like the check-up three months ago, only typical age-related inflamed keratoses were found. I’m asked to watch for a return of pigmentation when the two sites clear, and if seen, come in for more cryosurgery on those sites. But for now, once again, three months ahead with no further surgery. And that is very good news.

I will still see the skin surgeon next week, as he has entered me into a melanoma group in his practice. If that group seems repetitive to the dermatology three month check ups, I’m sure I’ll be able to cross that off my list. While it’s nice to have two sets of eyes looking, each one comes with a copay for me and a larger fee for the insurance company (which increases premiums for all of us.)

And as this week of waiting has played out, I’ve made good progress on the fundraising “quilt of many colors.”  It will continue to keep me busy for the next week or so. Busy may be the wrong word, though. I think a better expression would be ‘positively productive.’ When I visited the neurologist last  month, she commented on my appearance as strong and health, and expressed her appreciation for my being involved in community programs (the fire department and the Friends of the Library.) I also am surprised that I’ve been able to take on those two responsibilities in addition to all the medical visits connected to melanoma, which was not in the picture last year.

Anyway, I’m enjoying this second non-winter winter. The temperatures have been cold recently, but the snow minimal. Rick has been able to spend more time in the barn than snow-blowing in the driveway, and he is working happily on a new set of children’s sleds – with the belief that we will, eventually, see snow again here in New England! And once I finish this beautiful quilt, I’ll begin some spring items for the shop.  Positively Productive!

5 the spiral evolves

The spiral evolves

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Comments

  1. That’s great news. It sure is nice when we get to stop going to a regular docotr’s apt.

    • True! And the psychiatrist agrees that, now on a maintenance regime and mood is stabilized, we also can meet less frequently 🙂

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

The Crime Fiction Writer's Forensics Blog

The Science of Crime; The Art of Fiction by DP Lyle

Trying To Get A Life

Writing my way out of a rut

The Life Well Lived

Our Family's Stories of Growing Up

pauljanson

Just another WordPress.com site

Old Design Shop Blog

Free Vintage Images

Cathy Chester | An Empowered Spirit

Living a Healthy and Vibrant Life After 50

modafabrics

The Moda Cutting Table Blog

