Wait … and Weight

You know, six years ago I changed my menu and shed many pounds, dropped many clothing sizes, and began feeling better. But that year, the diagnosis of multiple sclerosis took the wind out of my new-found sails. I persevered, though, with the nasty injections for four years, thinking it was the right thing to do. It wasn’t, though, and when, with the help of a therapist and a psychiatrist and the right medication, I found myself and my self-respect, stopped the MS treatment, and began to feel better again. The lost weight, however, began to return, pound by pound.

Over the past two years, I’ve regained what I like to describe as four five-pound sacks of potatoes. And I’ve added a new label to my health folder: malignant melanoma. And I can count eight surgeries in the past year treating three different types of skin cancer: basal, squamous, and MM.  The surgeries spanned fifteen weeks, dealing with five sites and three weeks between each site for healing. But they were eventually completed, and life began to resume its active pace.

I had a three month follow-up dermatology visit in October, and other than a few pre-cancer sites treated with cryosurgery, my skin was deemed okay.

Today I went for the six month follow-up, worried about a new brown spot next to the “Mark on Zorro” on my back (the scar from one of the site’s surgeries.) The doctor checked it, said it was okay, and then carefully looked at my face. He found five more pre-cancers to treat with cryosurgery, and did so. But he also found two sites that he felt warranted biopsie140s, and so he did those, too.draft_lens8511501module153955966photo_1317901969scalesbathroom-2

We won’t have the results of the biopsies until the end of next week. I rescheduled my six month skin surgery follow-up to occur next week, so that if the biopsies indicate more surgery required (as the five sites did last summer) it will begin next week.

And so we wait … and concentrate on not adding to our weight while we wait, as that certainly won’t help anything. MS and MM and their depression require positive thoughts to beat. Quilting brings me that peace. No more Tostitos, and less chocolate ahead. I’ll miss the brownies.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

The Crime Fiction Writer's Forensics Blog

The Science of Crime; The Art of Fiction by DP Lyle

Trying To Get A Life

Writing my way out of a rut

The Life Well Lived

Our Family's Stories of Growing Up

pauljanson

Just another WordPress.com site

Old Design Shop Blog

Free Vintage Images

Cathy Chester | An Empowered Spirit

Living a Healthy and Vibrant Life After 50

modafabrics

The Moda Cutting Table Blog

